Today I Got Up and Got Sh*t Done (Or Maybe Not So Much)

The title of this post was my hope for today’s headline. Instead the headline was “Today I woke up with a headache and muddled through my to-do list and accidentally took a nap in the early afternoon”. I went to bed last night hoping I’d wake up the next morning with a great burst of motivation and I would effortlessly get some things knocked off my to-do list. This morning I woke up around 8:30 and all that hope was washed away. My head and neck hurt and that usually always means my stomach wouldn’t feel so great later either (I was right).

I got out of bed and checked Pinterest for a while then got around to go to the gas station since I didn’t really feel like having hot coffee this morning. I got two bottles of Starbucks coffee – one for today and one for tomorrow so I don’t spend a ridiculous amount at Biggby on my way to work (even though I seriously love Biggby). When all that was said and done it was around 10 by the time I actually got going on my to-do list which was as follows:

  • Dishes
  • Clean up kitchen
  • Take out recycling
  • Put away clothes
  • Make bed
  • Clean bathroom
  • Fix spoon mirror
  • Mosaic mirror

My plan of attack I came up with yesterday was to get up, chill for a while, get around, get some coffee (all of which I did), and then start with the dishes because I know that is the item on my list I least wanted to do. If I did that first then my motivation would snowball in getting the rest of the stuff done and maybe more. Instead the first thing I did was make the bed and put away my clothes. Easy tasks, but having a clean room gave me a little bit of a push to do the rest.

Next I began doing the dishes. One of the main reasons I hate doing the dishes so much is because we don’t have a dishwasher and I hate the feeling of the nasty water on my hands. Let me tell you – when a wet slimy piece of food touches my hand I want to hurl. Also to the left of the kitchen sink where we keep the dirty dishes is a relatively small area, so when the dishes pile up it seems like a mountain even when there really aren’t that many dishes. Our dish drying rack never holds all of the dishes we have so I have to wash a bunch of dishes, rinse them, put them in the rack and repeat like 3 times. I get easily frustrated and especially when I’m not feeling well I take a bunch of breaks. I washed everything except the crock pot (which is soaking) and a few pans.

In the middle of one of my breaks from doing the dishes came my accidental nap. Which lasted probably about two hours or more. I don’t really know actually, but it was one of those naps that was great and simultaneously horrible. First I woke up feeling great with no headache or aches in general. I was sucked back into sleep within minutes and when I woke up again I was sooooo groggy. yuck. It took me over an hour to snap out of it. Once I did though I had some food and went back to the dishes. After doing the dishes I quickly wiped down the sink, counters, and stove which allowed me to check off “clean up kitchen”.

Cleaning the bathroom came next. I cleaned the sink, toilet, shower, litter box, wiped off all the surfaces, vacuumed and emptied the trash. I also took this opportunity to take pictures for my home tour page I’m working on (I can’t imagine it will be posted anytime soon though).

I was hoping to be working on my mosaic mirror by the time Chris got home from work at 6. However after taking a few pictures of the bathroom I took a break and didn’t get back at it again. After showering and having dinner I started working on a this post and adding the pictures to the home tour and settled in to watch Supernatural until bed. I had even given up on this post until I realized it was going to take a while to fall asleep due to my ridiculous nap. So here we are. I had a midnight snack and my day’s to-do list looks like this:

  • Dishes (almost finished)
  • Clean up kitchen
  • Take out recycling
  • Put away clothes
  • Make bed
  • Clean bathroom
  • Fix spoon mirror
  • Mosaic mirror

I didn’t shave anything off this month’s to-do list but I think I got in some much needed cleaning before tearing the house apart again or leaving craft supplies all over while I temporarily turn into a mad artist. Hopefully tomorrow after work I’ll squeeze in some more cleaning and knock out an art piece. Then maybe Friday I’ll have that extra burst of motivation I’ve been begging for.

Good Night and See You Around!

Lauren ❤

Leave a Reply

